Trainer session and Express

Ok–so I am a little bit behind on posting since this actually happened on Friday (9/7/12) but…hey Life happens.

So I got there just a bit early for my trainer appointment so I hopped on a treadmill for 15 minutes to warm up and managed 1 mile/100 calories by walking at 4.1 mph after I warmed up at 3.6 for a minute or so.

Today was my “DYO” appointment. It stands for Design Your Own (workout) which is kinda a misnomer. While you do meet with the trainer to fine tune it based on your needs / condition, desired results and experience it was already a pre-planned action plan (ie on a laminated card you copied to your own).  I did like that the trainer asked in depth questions about what I really had time for and we worked out a plan to fit my time schedule: one upper body, one lower body and one “Express” if I came a third time to the gym (in a week). Warm up for 5-7 minutes before weights and then for 30-45 minutes after to deplete muscle reserves and burn  fat stores.  Although we did not go over what weight to start with we did set a plan for a little less weight and more reps to tone rather than ‘build’ muscle. Sounds good to me!

He also showed us 2 different kinds of elliptical machines-a traditional one and one that turns into a stair climber when you adjust the settings.

After the session I was on my own and opted to do the Planet Fitness 30 minutes express.  This time I had already written down the circuit and kept track to see where I was starting at and to track results.

Station 1-Leg press–1 set 25 reps @85 lbs (just a little too light)

Station3-Leg extension-1 set 20 reps–@ 50 lbs–>40 lbs (need to build right knee up)

Station5-Verticle Chest press-1 set 20 reps @ 20 lbs

Station7-Seated Row-1 set 25 reps @40lbs (next time @50)

Station9-Lateral Pull down-1 set 20 reps @ 50lbs (next time@ 60)

Station11-Shoulder Press–1 set10 reps at 40 (started off time and babying my left shoulder)

Station13-Bicep Curl (preacher curl) 1 set 12 reps @30 lbs

Station15-Tricep extension-1 set 20 reps @30 lbs

Station17-Ab curl-1 set 20 reps @60 lbs (next time @80)

Station19-Back extension-1 set 20 reps @80 lbs (next time @90)

In between stations I did the cardio portion with the ‘step’ and tried to varying how I stepped up and down (kinda boring). I finished today’s visit with another visit to the treadmill and did another 20 minutes at 4.2 mph for 1.5 miles and about 150 calories!

 

So what do YOU think?

